Announcing The Inaugural 2018 Changing Lawyer Awards Finalists

By Litera on August 16, 2018

We’re excited to announce the 20 legal professionals and organizations that are finalists for the inaugural 2018 Changing Lawyer Awards. The Changing Lawyer Awards are an opportunity for individuals, firms, and companies in the legal industry to be recognized for their willingness to embrace and drive change – through new technology, service models, or behavior.

The finalists for the 2018 Changing Lawyer Awards really represent a who’s-who of individuals and organizations that are shaping the legal space of the future. The number of quality nominations and overall response to the awards program is indicative of the range of individuals and organizations which continue to drive the industry forward.

Out of the hundreds of nominations for the inaugural Changing Lawyer Awards, our distinguished panel of judges have narrowed the field to the following individuals, firms, and organizations in each category. Congratulations to the 2018 finalists:

Outstanding Lawyer of the Year will be presented to a lawyer who has taken initiative, identified market trends and boldly figured out how to use groundbreaking processes to get ahead of them.

  • Erin Levine - Levine Family Law Group
  • Mark Young and Tilly Gray - Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
  • Natalie Munroe - Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Shiau Yen Chin-Dennis and Brendan Gutierrez McDonnell - K&L Gates LLP
  • Stuart Whittle - Weightmans LLP

Outstanding Law Firm of the Year will be presented to the firm that has implemented core process changes, creative billing arrangements, or other innovations to transform the way they provide legal services.

  • Clifford Chance LLP
  • Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Reed Smith LLP
  • Thompson Hine LLP
  • Weightmans LLP

Outstanding CIO of the Year will be presented to the CIO who has championed new programs or tools, driving increased efficiency through innovative processes, or creating entirely new ways of working.

  • Andy Jurczyk - Seyfarth Shaw LLP
  • Joan Holman - Clark Hill PLC
  • Joseph J. Palmeri - Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
  • Judith Flournoy - Kelley Drye & Warren LLP
  • Kim Wismer - Ballard Spahr LLP

Disruptor of the Year will be presented to an alternative legal service provider or legal tech startup that has managed to disrupt the broader legal profession through new processes, technology, or service delivery.

  • CaseLines
  • Casetext
  • Esquify
  • Gavelytics
  • LawGeex

Thank you to our 2018 sponsors: Keno Kozie Associates, Kraft Kennedy, SecurIT360, and Traveling Coaches.

We’ll be announcing the winners of The Changing Lawyer Awards during our ILTACON 2018 executive breakfast briefing on Tuesday, August 21. For more information about the awards and to meet our judges panel, please visit

Topics: Events, Litera Microsystems, Legal, The Changing Lawyer

Stay up to date